

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact:

Lacey Rumberger (904) 359-5437 | Cell: (386) 627-3379 Lacey@malwashington.com

25 Years of Furthering Higher Education

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. (May 25, 2021) – For over 25 years, the MaliVai Washington Youth Foundation has been making higher education more accessible by awarding scholarships to low-income students. Last week, MWYF awarded nearly \$50,000 to 46 students at a scholarship ceremony and over \$1.3 million total throughout the Foundation's history.

All of the recipients participated in a lengthy application and interview process and were awarded scholarships based on their merit as successful students, athletes and community members.

Our highest honor, the George M. Soper Student Athlete of the Year Award, was given to 10th grade student **Taifa Kumalo**. She was chosen for this award based on her excellent sportsmanship and her dedication to succeeding in the classroom and on the tennis court. A full list of scholarship recipients follows:

George M. Soper Student Athlete of the Year Award

This \$5,000 award is given annually to the student athlete who best exemplifies the ideals of MWYF.

Taifa Kumalo, 10th, Andrew Jackson High School

Zoe Gaudet Scholarship & Agassi Advantage Award

All graduating seniors who are serious about continuing their education receive a \$5,000 Zoe Gaudet Scholarship and a laptop courtesy of the (Andre) Agassi Advantage Award.

• Mya Sudduth, 12th, Andrew Jackson High School

Rick Murray "Don't Quit" Scholarship

This \$1,000 award was given to acknowledge students who have persevered through adversity.

- Jayden Critten, 7th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Alphonso Pascal, 7th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Kahmani Clark, 7th, Kirby Smith Middle School
- Tre Bridgeman, 10th, Andrew Jackson High School
- Sydney Foster, 9th, Jean Ribault High School
- Neemah Owens, 7th, Young Women's Leadership Academy

iMethods Meaningful Work Scholarship

This \$2,000 award was given to students who participated in monthly work readiness and career preparation.

- Ny'Reon Shuman, 11th, Bishop Kenny High School
- Deshai Bell, 11th, Robert E. Lee High School

THE PLAYERS Championship Driven to Succeed Scholarship

This \$1,000 scholarship is awarded to a student who demonstrates champion-level behavior throughout the year.

Mikaila Shaw, 6th, Darnell Cookman Middle-High School

Sherry Murray Extra Mile Scholarship

Students who made an extra effort in academics, behavior and/or tennis received between \$250 to \$1,500 dollars.

- Raquelle Scales, 5th, Florida Virtual School
- Jordan Killian, 5th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Karina Taylor, 5th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Karma Johnson, 5th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Ryann Johnson, 5th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Cassidy Brown, 5th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Elijah Thomas, 6th, James Weldon Johnson Middle School
- Kaliyah McNeil, 6th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Aaiden Harrell, 6th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Taraji Bridgeman, 6th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Makayla Harley, 6th, Darnell Cookman Middle-High School
- Zaniya Bryant, 7th, James Weldon Johnson Middle School
- Gerald Brown, 7th, Kirby Smith Middle School
- Zion Goni-Denson, 7th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Malikai Little, 7th, Jean Ribault Middle School
- Journee Hayes, 7th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Elysian Rivera, 7th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Hezekiah Stevens, 7th, The Guardian Catholic School
- Tyhlur Reynolds, 8th, LaVilla School of the Arts

- Valor Christian, 8th, Darnell Cookman Middle-High School
- Kennedy Bussey, 8th, John E. Ford K-8 School
- Kennesha Cooksey, 8th, William M. Raines High School
- Breona Bryant, 9th, Kirby Smith Middle School
- Acie Brown, 9th, Andrew Jackson High School
- Brandon Dew, 9th, Andrew Jackson High School
- Skylar Robinson, 9th, Robert E. Lee High School
- Caleb Owens, 9th, Paxon School for Advanced Studies
- Breona Holley, 9th, Jean Ribault High School
- Landajiah Richardson, 10th, William M. Raines High School
- Alaeya McCloud, 10th, Andrew Jackson High School
- Tywan Allen, 10th, Douglas Anderson School of the Arts
- Nina McBride, 10th, Andrew Jackson High School
- Taifa Kumalo, 10th, Andrew Jackson High School
- Sorenity Hayes, 10th, Robert E. Lee High School
- Kendall Ford, 10th, Stanton College Preparatory School
- Deshai Bell, 11th, Robert E. Lee High School
- Ziayla Lewis, 11th, William M. Raines High School
- Ny'Reon Shuman, 11th, Bishop Kenny High School

About MWYF

The MaliVai Washington Youth Foundation is an after-school and summer youth development program in Jacksonville's Urban Core that promotes academic achievement and positive life skills. For more information about MWYF, please visit <u>malwashington.com</u> or find us on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>Instagram</u> and <u>Twitter</u>.

###