MaliVai Washington Youth Foundation

Our Team

The people who make it possible

Learn more about the people behind the MaliVai Youth Foundation or search our open job listings.


MaliVai Washington - Founder

In 1994 he created the MaliVai Washington Youth Foundation to introduce tennis to at risk youth. In 1996 he became the first African American man to reach a grand slam singles final since tennis great Arthur Ashe won Wimbledon in 1975. 


Terri Florio - Executive Director

Terri Florio serves as the Executive Director of the MaliVai Washington Youth Foundation. She has held that position since the Foundation began active programs in 1996.

Terri has more than 30 years of management experience, primarily in the special event and professional sports business. Prior to working with the Foundation, she owned a special events marketing and consulting company in Atlanta and worked for ProServ (now Clear Channel Communications) for eight years. She was also involved in organizing the 1996 Atlanta Olympics.

Terri has a Bachelor’s of Business Administration from Rutgers University and has since completed numerous continuing education courses.

Terri resides in Jacksonville Beach, Florida and serves on the Board of Directors of USTA Florida and the NJTL National Committee. She is a member of the Rotary Club of San Marco and an alumna (class of 2004) and active volunteer with Leadership Jacksonville.

Board of Directors

MaliVai Washington, Founder

Terri Florio, Executive Director

Lezita Davis, Chair

Gene Scheurer, Vice Chair

Peter Goplerud, Treasurer

Travis Cox

Katie Deering

Nancy Edwards

Tom Gable

Patrick Geraghty

Anne Joseph

Chris Lazzara

Dana Leonard

Dow Peters

Jeff Reel

Lisa Sandifer

Barrett Scruggs

Judy Urbach

Dede Walker

Our Staff

Terri Florio,  Executive Director/CEO

Marc Atkinson,  Head Tennis Professional

Lucious Freeman,  Director of Program Services

Deanna Ordoñez,  Program Manager – Administration

Pam Simon, Program Manager – TnT

Eric Wesley, Program Operations Manager

Rossi Wright, Director of Community Engagement and Fund Development

Tiffany Atkinson,  Senior Program Coordinator

Brigette Todd, Community Relations Coordinator